Five Food Combinations That Will Change Your Life

Posted: April 5, 2013 in Dan Price White

1. Crispix Mixed With Corn Pops

I used to buy those variety packs of cereal when I was in college with about eight little boxes, but was never satisfied with the amount. I guess it was the literal serving size on the box which is just ridiculous with cereal. So on one great morning I said screw it, and emptied two boxes into one bowl, those boxes were Crispic and Corn Pops.

The taste, texture and overall experience was legendary. Now mixing cereals is just a normal part of my breakfast game. But no matter what I try: Smacks/Honey Combs, Fruit Loops/Fruity Pebbles, nothing turns me on like the sweet crunch of Crispix/Corn Pops.

P.S. Anyone who is a fervent supporter of the chocolate cereals is straight Looney Tunes. Just always felt a little too desserty, when what I want is wholesome goodness. Even crazier is when there is a choice, like fruity pebbles and cocoa pebbles. Fruity all day, every day.

2. Peanut Butter in Your Oatmeal

Oatmeal is God’s gift to breakfast, the undisputed champion in my book. Haven’t started a day without it since about 2002. But about a year ago I had a plan to put a scoop of almond or peanut butter in it while still hot and see what I got. The result is something a million angels couldn’t describe.

3. Chocolate Almond Milk, Jillian Michael’s Protein Powder, Banana, Peanut Butter

Basically adding peanut butter to anything makes it awesome, but this smoothie combination I came up with is the bomb. I don’t know why it has to be Jillian Michael’s Protein Powder, but it just does. It was all I could find at Wal-Mart one night (I know, go to GNC bro, I live in a tiny town, get off me) but the taste was surprisingly great.

Just use chocolate almond milk (Silk brand) as the base, add powder, one banana and a spoonful of PB and blend with a couple cubes of ice. Straight fire smoothie recipe, you’ll never want anything else.

4. Regular Mustard on Canned Tuna

If you’re like me, you eat your tuna straight out of the can like a beast. And the best way to not feel so poor when you’re doing it is to add your favorite brand of deli mustard straight on top and eat it with a spoon. Dr. Oz told me that mustard brings out the nutrients in green veggies, like dipping broccoli in it, so I figured why not let it boost my tuna too. The taste is so good you’ll laugh in the face of mayo.

5. Espresso in Your Chai Tea Latte

If you love chai tea lattes, iced or hot, from a coffee house, then do yourself a favor and make it dirty with a shot of espresso in it. I prefer the iced variation with skim milk from either Baxters in Somerset, Ky., or Starbucks. The result in pumpkin pie in a glass, which sucks if you don’t like pumpkin pie, but if that’s the case you should probably just leave America. I know coffee-house drinks aren’t for everyone and chai lattes in general are not good for you, but one of these a week is a worthy sacrifice. 

Leave a Reply

