The Case Against Getting Ripped

Posted: June 17, 2013 in Dan Price White

I’ll admit, I love working out as much as the next guy, but I’ve had to come to terms with the fact that I’ll never be ripped.

The simple truth is Taco Bell, Dunkin’ Donuts and McDonald’s breakfast is all too good.

No matter how much I work out, my donut to bicep-curl ratio just won’t give me that ripped-to-shreds body that some guys desire.

Gains in strength aren’t an issue, my bench press continues to go up, but I just can’t be a mirror athlete. Won’t do it, can’t do it.

Plus, can you really trust people in the weight room that look like mini Arnold’s, just strutting around with veins popping everywhere? Unless their job is to lift nonstop and smash healthy meals, then it’s probably not a typical body of your everyday 9-to-fiver who spends more time checking Twitter between sets than worrying about impressing the next lady to walk by.

A recent podcast I listened to described the steps to being ripped as constantly moving, check, lift heavy weight with low reps, check, and cut out all sugar and unhealthy carbs, UNCHECK! I just couldn’t look in the mirror and see myself with bulging biceps and not think about those poor frosted blueberry donuts.

But seriously, if checking Twitter between sets is wrong, then I don’t want to right.

 

Quick Hitters

Leave a Reply

